Claire Harris

I recently completed my PhD at the University of Glasgow and join the EPIC team through my new role at Biomathematics and Statistics Scotland (BioSS). I have a background in biology and mathematics, having completed a joint honours degree in these subjects at the University of Birmingham. I came to Scotland in 2014 to pursue a Master’s in Quantitative Ecology and Epidemiology and stayed for a PhD that involved creating a simulation system of plant species across continents, incorporating global data on plant distributions and climate.

I have been fortunate to have a varied career in ecology and disease-related research so far, beginning with the conservation of crop wild relatives, then studying the changing dynamics of canine rabies outbreaks in South America, the genetic diversity of parasites in Trypanosome infections, and finally modelling global plant species for my PhD. As a result, I have picked up a broad range of mathematical and statistical techniques, which I look forward to applying to animal health topics within EPIC, particularly issues surrounding surveillance.


Visualization for epidemiological modelling: challenges, solutions, reflections and recommendations. Jason Dykes, Alfie Abdul-Rahman, Daniel Archambault, Benjamin Bach, Rita Borgo, Min Chen, Jessica Enright, Hui Fang, Elif E. Firat, Euan Freeman, Tuna Gönen, Claire Harris, Radu Jianu, Nigel W. John, Saiful Khan, Andrew Lahiff, Robert S. Laramee, Louise Matthews, Sibylle Mohr, Phong H. Nguyen, Alma A. M. Rahat, Richard Reeve, Panagiotis D. Ritsos, Jonathan C. Roberts, Aidan Slingsby, Ben Swallow, Thomas Torsney-Weir, Cagatay Turkay, Robert Turner, Franck P. Vidal, Qiru Wang, Jo Wood and Kai Xu

FAIR data pipeline: provenance-driven data management for traceable scientific workflows. Sonia Natalie Mitchell, Andrew Lahiff, Nathan Cummings, Jonathan Hollocombe, Bram Boskamp, Ryan Field, Dennis Reddyhoff, Kristian Zarebski, Antony Wilson, Bruno Viola, Martin Burke, Blair Archibald, Paul Bessell, Richard Blackwell, Lisa A. Boden, Alys Brett, Sam Brett, Ruth Dundas, Jessica Enright, Alejandra N. Gonzalez-Beltran, Claire Harris, Ian Hinder, Christopher David Hughes, Martin Knight, Vino Mano, Ciaran McMonagle, Dominic Mellor, Sibylle Mohr, Glenn Marion, Louise Matthews, Iain J. McKendrick, Christopher Mark Pooley, Thibaud Porphyre, Aaron Reeves, Edward Townsend, Robert Turner, Jeremy Walton and Richard Reeve

Website design by Innovation Digital Limited